Author Topic: SCREEN REPLACEMENT  (Read 1088 times)

Offlinekeith zx

SCREEN REPLACEMENT
    « on: 2016-02-02 21:40:26 »
     i think i mentioned this before ,i get a lot of wind noise and buffeting over around 65 mph,love riding the bike as i am getting more used to it ,but the wind noise spoils the ride for me ,i think i am going to go with the z tech screen,am i right in thinking it is just a matter to undo the four screen fixings and it is a straight swop.or will i find any kind of washers / packers behind the screen brackets,thanks //

OfflineHDBeemer

• K1600 Exclusive
      Re: SCREEN REPLACEMENT
      « Reply #1 on: 2016-02-02 23:24:30 »
      Just the four screws and the two brackets.
      I have no experience with the Z tech screen, but I assume it's the same there, too.
      It doesn't have to make sense. It's ok if it's just fun :-)

Offlinee7navy1999

« Reply #2 on: 2016-02-03 02:44:10 »
        This helped to nearly eliminate the wind noise and buffering on my 2012 K16:  https://www.aeroflowscreens.com/K1600GT_GTL/K1600GT_GTL_Accessories.htm

OfflineFP-NLD

• Global Moderator
          « Reply #3 on: 2016-02-03 19:13:45 »
          When putting the screen back make sure to fasten them with 2.5 Nm of torque; which is very little.
          If you over-torque (is that a real word?) them your wind shield might start to crack at the holes the screws go through after a few miles.
          Frank (NLD),             BMW K1600 GT Red (2011); top case w/brakelight, comfort package, safety package, F2P, black Wunderlich bars, PDM60, Autocom SPA  |  Other bike: Moto Guzzi V7 850 California (1975)

OfflineThe Wolf

« Reply #4 on: 2016-02-03 23:08:36 »
            Keith, have you not got your screen sorted yet?  ::)

Offlinee7navy1999

« Reply #5 on: 2016-02-04 02:44:35 »