Author Topic: Trading Up  (Read 936 times)

OfflineSimon B

Trading Up
    « on: 2017-06-13 16:39:30 »
    Hi Forum, I am a Newbie having signed up today.

I am keen to get views from anyone who may have traded up from a K1300S and to tap into their thoughts on how they may have found the the K1600 compared with the K1300. Having previously ridden a Honda Blackbird for many years, the K1300S seemed a not unreasonable substitute and I have not been disappointed. I have used the bike mostly for daily commutes of 150+ miles during the warmer months but would now like to get back into doing some touring which I did regularly on the Blackbird.

I like the features and comfort of the K1600 but I am in two minds about sacrificing performance and manoueverability, which I assume would be more limited compared with my present steed.

I would welcome any views.

Many thanks,

Simon

OfflineEpcotPhil

Re: Trading Up
      « Reply #1 on: 2017-06-13 16:48:38 »
      Welcome! There are lots of experts and lots of experience here so I'm sure you'll get a specific answer from someone. That said, I'd say the the K16 comes in two models with different seating positions. You might want to test ride them both; even better, rent one for a day before you plunk down a wad of bills. And you can get great savings on gently used ones with only a little shopping.

What are you wishing for more of that makes you want to trade your bike?? The clearer you are on that answer, the better your choice will be.

We wanted to leave single bike riding so sold a Harley Sportster 1200 and BMW R1100rsl to get a 2014 K1600 GTLE. Fantastic performing two up tourer!  But you have to find your own path!

Good luck, have fun!
      2014 K1600 GTLE w RDL, Betsy running lights, quick shift, custom split top case LED strip with IQ-260 Skene controller

OfflineSimon B

« Reply #2 on: 2017-06-13 16:59:52 »