Author Topic: NEW TO THE FORUM  (Read 400 times)

Offlinebuzz1

NEW TO THE FORUM
    « on: 2017-08-18 20:09:18 »
    Newbie Here.  Just joined this forum and will most likely have a lot of question.  Just sold my 2014 RT and in search of a K1600.  Looking at a 2013 GTL Premium with 5,500 miles.  Would greatly appreciate comments, suggestions and advise regarding anything that I should be asking the seller.  Any issues with that year production model?  Pros, cons etc...  Coming from an RT, I know I'll have to replace the seat with something more comfortable.  I had the RDL on my RT and although it was comfortable it was a bit high for my 29-30 inseam.  Anyone has any experience with the Sargent seat?  I also had an aftermarket windshield on my RT.  Would like to hear what some of the member here are favoring. 
    « Last Edit: 2017-08-18 21:40:51 by buzz1 »

OnlineFP-NLD

• Global Moderator
      Re: NEW TO THE FORUM
      « Reply #1 on: 2017-08-18 21:58:46 »
      Welcome to the forum and best of luck with the search.
      I would suggest to take test rides on a GT and on a GTL. Bikes are basically the same but have different ergonomics.
      No difference in model years 2011 till 2016.
      Just make sure that all the prescribed maintenance has been done by a dealer. That way you make sure that the bike has got all the updates.
      Also check whether the switch clusters have been replaced. The earlier bikes can get faulty switch clusters but they are replaced for free. On my bike they were replaced for free even though the bike was 4.5 years old at the time.
      Frank (NLD),             BMW K1600 GT Red (2011); top case w/brakelight, comfort package, safety package, F2P, black Wunderlich bars, PDM60, Autocom SPA  |  Other bike: Moto Guzzi V7 850 California (1975)

Offlinebuzz1

« Reply #2 on: 2017-08-19 03:05:34 »
        Ok. Got it. Spoke to the seller he thinks the cluster was replaced but is not sure. I'll check with the dealer that serviced the bike.