Author Topic: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI  (Read 2697 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

OfflineThe Wolf

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 93
  • Country: gb
    Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
    « on: 2014-12-05 22:40:57 »
    Hi, does anyone know if it is possible to change the display from BAR to PSI re the tyre pressures on the bike or is it something which the dealer has to do?

    Had mine into a local dealer today, a salesman had a look at it but couldn't fathom it out and thought it would have to be a software upgrade, was he right?

    OfflineFP-NLD

    • Global Moderator
    • *****
    • Posts: 789
    • Country: nl
      Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
      « Reply #1 on: 2014-12-05 22:44:28 »
      I'm pretty sure you can't do it yourself.
      IIRC there is someone in Australia who had it done. Also the miles to kms switch.
      Frank (NLD),             BMW K1600 GT Red (2011); top case w/brakelight, comfort package, safety package, F2P, black Wunderlich bars, PDM60, Autocom SPA  |  Other bike: Moto Guzzi V7 850 California (1975)

      OfflineThe Wolf

      • Jr. Member
      • **
      • Posts: 93
      • Country: gb
        Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
        « Reply #2 on: 2014-12-05 23:19:13 »
        Many thanks for that prompt response, looks like I'm going to have to pay the dealer to amend this. I understand PSI but have never used BAR as a measure.

        OfflineRTman10

        • Hero Member
        • *****
        • Posts: 935
        • Country: england
        • GTL Exclusive (Exchanged for R1200RT LE)
          Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
          « Reply #3 on: 2014-12-06 08:37:09 »
          2.9 = 42PSI. Nearly sure it cant be changed on the bike.
          « Last Edit: 2014-12-06 08:50:19 by RTman10 »

          Offlineterry

          • Newbie
          • *
          • Posts: 31
          • Country: england
            Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
            « Reply #4 on: 2014-12-06 16:31:09 »
            I was offered it by my dealer when in for its last service but I prefer BAR so declined
            Past: Triumh Rocket tourer 2300. K1600 GTL blue. Present: Honda Pan European ST1300, K1600 GTL silver.

            OfflineDasBoot

            • Newbie
            • *
            • Posts: 32
            • Country: au
              Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
              « Reply #5 on: 2014-12-16 09:20:16 »
              I was told it couldn't be changed until they received an update from BMW for their diagnostic gizmo. That was two years ago and I keep forgetting to ask when I drop it in for servicing.

              OfflineJP6SIX

              • Jr. Member
              • **
              • Posts: 62
              • Country: nl
              • K1600GT since 17032012
                Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
                « Reply #6 on: 2014-12-19 17:25:15 »
                14.7

                OfflineDasBoot

                • Newbie
                • *
                • Posts: 32
                • Country: au
                  Re: Tyre pressures...BAR to PSI
                  « Reply #7 on: 2015-02-22 10:16:23 »
                  I had the K1600 serviced in January and they changed the tyre pressure reading from Bar to PSI.